I have used it plenty of times on cook fires and used metal forks with it. A 2001 Maine Mountain Bike Association State Champion, his current goal is to learn to break fewer bones.

“a trip to pick blueberries in a high mountain meadow”—-in March? There's a problem loading this menu right now.

The Pinnacle Frypan has become a great addition to my camp kitchen collection.

I have used it plenty of times on cook fires and used metal forks with it. I am pleased with this pan so far. For backpacking, the GSI Outdoors Pinnacle 10-Inch Frypan is a revelation to us; ease of use, safety, and quality results put it head and shoulders above all other frypans we’ve used. The thick bottom will provide an even heat which is hard to control over a campfire otherwise. This category only includes cookies that ensures basic functionalities and security features of the website. Thanks for writing. It offers about an average boiling time at 3:47. Used this multiple times during a long camping road trip. It truly is non-stick and the size is perfect for 2 people. And, you’re correct, the Pinnacle now has a hard anodized coating, but at the time we wrote the article it didn’t. We have found the GSI Outdoors Pinnacle 10" Frypan a wonderful addition to our camping cookset.

We feel the Pinnacle Frypan deserves its name, 'Pinnacle', and would recommend this series of frying pans to anybody who is looking for a new camping frying pan. So, when I was looking for a replacement for my big honking heavy 12″ frypan that goes on trips with 4 or more people, it only made sense to see what they had to offer. Reviewed in the United States on February 25, 2014. The only negative was that, like pretty much every pan we’ve ever used that wasn’t made of cast iron, it developed a slight doming of the bottom, so whatever you put in there is thinnest in the center where the most heat is. It scratches really really easily, so DEFINITELY take good care to use proper utensils with it and when cleaning it and it will do its job well. Disabling it will result in some disabled or missing features. Reviewed in the United States on November 14, 2019. We’d like to take this opportunity to point out that, at EasternSlopes.com, we don’t form our opinions in seconds and flame them out to the world. It's a bit heavier then I thought it would be and heavier duty as well. Disabling it will result in some disabled or missing features. Find helpful customer reviews and review ratings for GSI Outdoors - Pinnacle Frypan at Amazon.com. Reviewed in the United States on September 11, 2017. In fact better since these are a bit thicker so you don't get that littel dimple that rises up in the center of the pan as they heat up. Of course, that’s all in theory; it’s in the field that performance flaws show up. The Pinnacle frying pan is of superb quality with a solid feel and quality finishing on the pan bottom, rivets and handle. I just replaced an identical one that has been in my camping kit for a long time, and will remain in service as a backup. Typing in “frying pan” gets nothing. The GSI Pinnacle Camper is the best cook set we have tested, sharing our Editors' Choice award with a product that performs very well but does not include as many components.

Reviewed in the United States on August 25, 2019, Cooked things and they didn't stick cooked fairly evenly too. I used a rubber spatula when making scrambled eggs--the only thing I've made so far. We haven't used this a whole lot since we bought it toward the end of the camping season. It gets super hot very easily, but the non-stick is true to advertised. I love this fry pan. I haven't been genital with it at all and it has held up well. Glad you’re enjoying yours…ours is still alive (although it really is due for an update, due to all of the dents and dings). After viewing product detail pages, look here to find an easy way to navigate back to pages you are interested in. You can still see all customer reviews for the product.

It still easy enough to clean with just a dry paper towel wipe down. It is light weight, collapses nicely, and nests well with our.

I love this fry pan.

I have used a green scrub pad to lightly wipe away grease, but the grease does not really stick, so no need for scrubbing anyway. All Rights Reserved.

Top subscription boxes – right to your door. We got a cover bag for it to give it some extra protection when in transit camping, and that has worked out for us really well.

I can still cook with it but it's a bit annoying. Review of GSI Outdoors Pinnacle 10" Frypan As we prepared for our trip to Chile, it was apparent we needed a new frypan, our 12" cast iron just wasn't going to cut it, so we contacted our friends at GSI Outdoors and they sent us their 10" Pinnacle Frypan. I have been using it every day sense May 2018 on my stove to see how well this thing is going to hold up. I've owned it for over a year, and Its the perfect size for two egg omelet. Its thick enough to use it as part of your everyday stove top fry pan. It scratches really really easily, so DEFINITELY take good care to use proper utensils with it and when cleaning it and it will do its job well.

This page works best with JavaScript. Yes, you need to pay attention to not scratching the coating (they claim that Radiance is much tougher than regular Teflon, but that’s like saying brown eggs have harder shells than white; they all still crack), but that’s a small price to pay for the ease of cleanup in camp, and for having your food evenly cooked without sticking. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. I use it every day for over easy eggs. 4 people found this helpful. I just replaced an identical one that has been in my camping kit for a long time, and will remain in service as a backup. You also have the option to opt-out of these cookies. Now I have to get the 8″ to replace my smaller pan…. Available at REI, 100% Satisfaction Guaranteed. If you use this with a stove like an MSR that has a small burner the pan will deform. Reviewed in the United States on July 9, 2015, Reviewed in the United States on June 3, 2018. Out went my order, in came the pan. Nothing sticks to this pan, it is very high quality and easy to wash. This is a delicate non-stick pan. The Bugaboo is not as durable as the pinnacle series. Before my cross country bicycle trip I used it to test cook on our home gas stove and it worked well.

I take this pan camping and make eggs and pancakes just like at home! For backpacking, the GSI Outdoors Pinnacle 10-Inch Frypan is a revelation to us; ease of use, safety, and quality results put it head and shoulders above all other frypans we’ve used. That means a thick, heavy pan…or does it? I love the compactness and portability of this stove. I love this fry pan. Reviewed in the United States on May 23, 2016. You can still see all customer reviews for the product. Over the next 5 months, the Pinnacle frypan got used for everything from frying freshly caught trout to boiling pasta to searing venison steaks (and then having EggBeaters thrown into the pan the next morning to take advantage of the pan juices). Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question. GSI has made changes to the line, and while we haven’t confirmed that what was Pinnacle is now Bugaboo without any other changes, it’s likely.

Instead, we actually test the gear we write about in a variety of conditions over a span of time.

Folding handle is great. Instead, our system considers things like how recent a review is and if the reviewer bought the item on Amazon. This thing will out preform any "ultra light" fry pan option when it comes to cooking. This magical three-layered genius helps with even heat distribution, and overall protection of cookware. Basically, we did everything we’d do with our sautè pans at home, and the Pinnacle came through with flying colors. While this isn't as fast as those with heat exchangers, it's a good enough time to keep you happy and healthy in all sorts of backcountry environments. But of the 2/3 times we used it we were very happy with it. Reviewed in the United States on October 19, 2017. Top subscription boxes – right to your door, GSI Outdoors, Pinnacle Frypan, Superior Backcountry Cookware Since 1985, See all details for GSI Outdoors, Pinnacle Frypan, Superior Backcountry Cookware Since 1985, © 1996-2020, Amazon.com, Inc. or its affiliates. Minimalist and simple, Ramen noodles from a kettle, little planning needed…pack up and go! © 2020 Living Overland. You can still see all customer reviews for the product. To calculate the overall star rating and percentage breakdown by star, we don’t use a simple average.

Easy to clean and easy to store with the folding handle. My recent purchase of the GSI Outdoor Products Pinnacle 10" frying pan was followed by a happy ending of even-cooking for pancakes and eggs at the campsite.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience while you navigate through the website. Does 2 ok.

I use a gas stove.

GSI’s Pinnacle series uses Teflon with radiance technology to give you a trustworthy non-stick pan that will be cooking up tasty treats for years to come. Reviewed in the United States on September 16, 2020.

Pinnacle fry pans offer the ultimate in cooking performance, non-stick resilience and durability. Perfect for 3. Love the nonstick. These are my home pans I take camping. It also analyzes reviews to verify trustworthiness. Best of all, the nylon coating cleans up quickly and when used with nylon cooking utensils, should last a very long time. 5.0 out of 5 stars I use it every day!

We got a cover bag for it to give it some extra protection when in transit camping, and that has worked out for us really well. I wouldn't call this an ultra light option. Difficult to link with other cooking sets.

But if weight is something your worried about or how well you stack other cooking implements with it for condescend packability then this may not be what your looking for. Reviewed in the United States on February 17, 2019. I wouldn't call this an ultra light option. Just like the Dualist.e are my home pans I take camping, Reviewed in the United States on March 20, 2019. Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question. But, after reading the product specs and measuring my old pan, I realized that the GSI Outdoors Pinnacle 10-Inch Frypan would replace my 12″. Any cookies that may not be particularly necessary for the website to function and is used specifically to collect user personal data via analytics, ads, other embedded contents are termed as non-necessary cookies.